Key Initiatives

Telemedicine Curriculum

STFM has convened a group of experts to develop national telemedicine curriculum for students, residents, and faculty. The task force is chaired by Steven Lin, MD, Executive Director of the Stanford Healthcare AI Applied Research Team, in Palo Alto, CA. 

Telemedicine or telehealth – defined as the long-distance delivery of medical care using technology – has grown exponentially in the U.S. over the past 20 years, and contemporary trends in the health care environment are serving to fuel this growth. Telehealth has been rapidly implemented across the country over the past few months to help physicians continue to provide patient care while also slowing the spread of COVID-19. 

Despite it's growing use, there is no widely recognized gold standard for telemedicine training for undergraduate or graduate medical education. 

The new curriculum will include an organized repository of resources representing foundational topics and best practices in telemedicine.  It will be designed to help faculty integrate telemedicine topics into courses, clerkships, and residency curricula. The content will help students, residents, and faculty obtain the skills needed to deliver telemedicine care in their practices. curriculum will be developed to specifically address needs in rural and other underserved areas.

View Interim Compilation of Telemedicine Resources

Telemedicine Curriculum Task Force Members

Steven Lin, MD
Vice Chief, Technology Innovation
Executive Director, Stanford Healthcare AI Applied Research Team
Stanford University School of Medicine


Rika Bajra, MD
Associate Director, Core Clerkship in Family and Community Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine

Tom Banning
CEO and Executive Vice President
Texas Academy of Family Physicians

Lance Fuchs, MD
Program Director
Kaiser Permanente San Diego Family Medicine Residency

Kevin Galpin, MD
Executive Director
Telehealth Services Office of Connected Care,
Veterans Health Administration at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Brett Johnson, MD
Program Director
Methodist Health System Family Practice Residency Program 
Dallas, TX

Bonnie Jortberg, PhD, RD, CDE
Associate Professor, Department of Family Medicine
University of Colorado School of Medicine

John Moore, DO
Chair of Family Medicine
Pacific Northwest University College of Osteopathic Medicine
Yakima, WA

Mahesh Patel, MD
Assistant Professor
Director of Telemedicine
University of Illinois

Kerry Palakanis, DNP, APRN
Executive Director
Connect Care Operations

David Rakel, MD
Professor and Department Chair
University of New Mexico School of Medicine

Scott Shipman, MD
Director of Clinical Innovations;
Director of Primary Care Initiatives
Association of American Medical Colleges

Duane Teerink, DO,
Assistant Professor of Family Medicine 
Pacific Northwest University College of Osteopathic Medicine
Yakima, WA

Steve Waldren, MD
VP and Chief Medical Informatics Officer
American Academy of Family Physicians

Staff Lead: 

Mary Theobald
Chief of Strategy and Innovation
Society of Teachers of Family Medicine