Faculty for Tomorrow Resident Scholarship

The STFM Foundation supports multiple scholarships of $750 to help cover travel expenses for residents to attend the full-day Faculty for Tomorrow Preconference Workshop at the STFM Annual Spring Conference. Scholarship recipients are chosen based on essays they have written to answer the questions "Why are you interested in teaching family medicine?" and "How do you think you can make a difference in the future of family medicine?"

Dedicated Funding for Underrepresented in Medicine Residents

Thanks to generous support from donors to the Underrepresented in Medicine Campaign, the STFM Foundation is able to provide additional scholarships for underrepresented in medicine applicants. The Association of American Medical Colleges defines underrepresented in medicine as: “those racial and ethnic populations that are underrepresented in the medical profession relative to their numbers in the general population.” 

Congratulations 2019 Recipients!

  • Oluwatoni Aluko, MD, MPH, University of Pennsylvania
  • Miranda Aragon, MD, Jefferson Family and Community Medicine FMR, Philadelphia, PA
  • Melanie Connah, MD, Medstar Franklin Square FMR, Baltimore, MD
  • Alexandria Cooke, MD, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga      
  • Elizabeth Davis, MD, MBA, St. Luke's FMR, Maumee, OH
  • Daniela Delgado, MD, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center FMR, Torrance, CA
  • Marsha Dietrich-McLean, DO, UPMC Altoona Family Physicians, Altoona, PA
  • Tolulope Famuyiro, MD, MPH, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston FMR
  • Amber Heckart Gilmore, MD, MAHEC Hendersonville Rural FMR, Hendersonville, NC
  • Audrey Gray, MD, MPH, Ventura County Medical Center FMR, Ventura, CA
  • Nathaniel Andrew Harris, MD, University of Arizona Alvernon FMR, Tucson, AZ         
  • Jared James, MD, Mayo Clinic - Eau Claire FMR, Eau Claire, WI            
  • Anthony Johnson, MD,  University of Alabama FMR, Tuscaloosa, AL
  • Bryan Johnston, MD, Medical College of Wisconsin/Columbia St. Mary's FMR, Milwaukee, WI
  • Cecilia Jojola, MD, UC Davis Family and Community Medicine, Sacramento, CA
  • Charles Jose, MD, MPH, Family Medicine Residency of Western Montana, Missoula, MT              
  • Nickia King, DO, The Wright Center/Unity Healthcare, Washington, DC
  • Allison Louis, MD, John Peter Smith FMR, Fort Worth, TX
  • Ayiti-Carmel Maharaj-Best, MD, University of Pennsylvania FMR, Philadelphia, PA
  • Michelle Rodriguez, MD, UT Health San Antonio FMRP, San Antonio, TX
  • Helen Song, DO, LA County- Harbor-UCLA FMR, Harbor City, CA
  • Natalie Stahl, MD, MPH, Lawrence Family Medicine Residency, Lawrence, MA
  • Veronica Torres, MD, UMass Worcester FMR, Worcester, MA
  • Christopher DeShawn Watson, MD, MPH, Tallahassee Memorial Healthcare, Tallahassee, FL
  • Jonathan Zalamea, MD, Memorial FMR, Sugar Land, TX


Questions about the scholarship or the application process? Contact Emily Walters at or at (913) 800-5677 for more information.


Contact Us

11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway

Leawood, KS 66211





September 15: Last day to submit curriculum for the National Clerkship Curriculum

September 17: Deadline to apply for the Advocacy Scholarship for New Faculty

October 1: Applications due for STFM/MEDICC Trip to Cuba

October 15: Nominations are due for the STFM Innovative Program AwardSTFM Advocate Award, STFM Humanism Award, STFM Excellence in Education Award, and the Lynn and Joan Carmichael STFM Recognition Award