Emerging Leaders Fellowship


Johnny Tenegra, MD, Chair

Southern Illinois University, Decatur

Dr. Tenegra is an associate professor and Director of Point of Care Ultrasound and Faculty Development at the Southern Illinois University Department of Family & Community Medicine. He enjoys practicing full-spectrum family medicine, with interests in procedures, pediatrics, and women’s health.  As faculty, he engaged learners through establishing new and sustainable curricula for scholarly activity, point of care ultrasound, and medical student education. He is a graduate of the STFM Emerging Leaders Fellowship class of 2020.  His leadership interests include vision building, creating an innovative workplace culture, forming coalitions, and sustainable leadership.

Thomas Hahn, MD

University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Dr. Hahn is an associate professor in the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. He is the program director for the family medicine residency program and also teaches medical students. Dr. Hahn has held leadership roles in multiple organizations and is a graduate of the STFM Emerging Leaders Fellowship. He practices full spectrum family medicine, and his academic interests include supporting medical learners, health equity, and mentorship.  

Astrud S.A. Villareal, MD, FAAFP

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Dr. Villareal is an Assistant Professor and serves as one of the Associate Program Directors in the UT Southwestern Department of Family and Community Medicine Residency Program as well as the Medical Director fof the Parkland Residency Clinic site.  She completed her residency at UT Southwestern Family and Community Medicine, serving as Chief Resident during her third year, and earning distinctions in Community Medicine and Global Health upon graduation. She is active and has held roles in local and state wide organized medicine groups. A proud graduate of the STFM Emerging Leaders Program, her academic interests include residency programming, curriculum development, preventive care, leadership. and mentorship. 

Rubayat “Ricky” Qadeer, MD AAHIVS

Bronx Health Collective

Rubayat “Ricky” Qadeer MD is a Bangladeshi immigrant and family physician from Queens, NY. He is currently the Assistant Medical Director in Education & Advocacy at Montefiore’s Bronx Health Collective, as well as an Assistant Professor at Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Dr. Qadeer is a fierce advocate and ally for marginalized communities he cares for - including families experiencing homelessness, immigrants seeking asylum, and people seeking gender-affirming care. He is passionate about mentorship and is a co-founder of the South Bronx Community Health Leaders (SBxCHL), a pre-health pathway program for underrepresented students seeking careers in medicine. Dr. Qadeer is strongly committed to supporting anti-racist spaces and advancing health equity - both in the clinic as well as in the community at large. 

John Frey, MD

University of Wisconsin

Dr Frey is an Emeritus Professor of Family Medicine and Community Health at the University of Wisconsin. He taught at the University of Massachusetts and the University of North Carolina, directing the Faculty Development fellowship program. He was editor of Family Medicine and is an associate editor of the Annals of Family Medicine and a consultant to the National Library of Medicine. Dr Frey is an STFM past president and recipient of the Lynn and Joan Carmichael Award and the F. Marian Bishop Leadership Award.

Contact Us


11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway

Leawood, KS 66211

(800) 274-7928