Medical Student Educators Development Institute


David Anthony, MD, MSc

Dr Anthony has worked in academic family medicine his entire career. After training at Brown University’s residency and completing an academic family medicine fellowship at Boston University, he has been a member of the faculty of the Department of Family Medicine at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University. There, he has served as director of Medical Student Education since 2010. In this capacity, he serves as the clerkship director, oversees the family medicine electives, and directs the recruitment and faculty development of community family physician faculty. At a national level, Dr. Anthony serves as an associate editor for fmCASES, and he chairs the fmCASES Video Working Group. In addition to his educational scholarship, he also worked from its outset on the Project RED Trial of transitional post-discharge services to prevent rehospitalization and adverse events. He has received numerous teaching and academic awards, including being a co-winner of the 2010 STFM Research Paper of the Year Award.

Kelly Everard, PhD

Dr Everard received her PhD in Educational Psychology from the University of Kentucky. She is currently in the Department of Family and Community Medicine at Saint Louis University School of Medicine where she has been director of medical student education since 2008. In this capacity she oversees family medicine electives, recruitment and faculty development of community preceptors, scholarship of medical student educators, and the Primary Care Mentoring Program. Dr Everard is course director for Clinical Interviewing, the doctoring course for first year medical students, and is co-director for the Rodney M. Coe Distinction in Community Service program. On a national level, she serves on the steering committee for the Council of Academic Family Medicine Educational Research Alliance (CERA) and is currently directing the CERA clerkship director survey. Dr Everard is also a graduate of the 2007 inaugural class of MSEDI fellows.

Miriam Hoffman, MD

Dr Miriam Hoffman is the founding associate dean of Medical Education at the Seton Hall–Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine in New Jersey. Previously, she was at the Boston University School of Medicine (BUSM) for 13 years. At BUSM, Dr. Hoffman was the chair of the Clerkship Curriculum Subcommittee and served as a member of many education committees. Dr Hoffman has been a leader in evidence-based medicine (EBM) curriculum and training. She created the One Minute Learner - a clinical teaching tool that structures a conversation between student and teacher about goals and expectations. Dr Hoffman has spent her clinical career working with patients from diverse backgrounds in underserved settings. Dr Hoffman completed her undergraduate education at the Johns Hopkins University, received her medical degree from Cornell University Medical College, and completed her residency at the New York Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Family Medicine Residency.


Todd Zakrajsek, PhD

Todd Zakrajsek, PHD, is an associate professor and associate director of the Faculty Fellowship in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine, and an adjunct associate professor of Faculty Development in the College of Veterinary Medicine at North Carolina State University. He is the immediate past executive director of the Center for Faculty Excellence at UNC Chapel Hill. Prior to his work at UNC, Dr Zakrajsek started and directed centers for teaching and learning at Central Michigan University and Southern Oregon University (where he also taught as a tenured associate professor of psychology).  Dr Zakrajsek has served on numerous national educational boards. Currently, he directs 5 national Lilly Conferences on Evidence-Based Teaching and Learning. His recently co-authored books include Dynamic Lecturing: Research-based Strategies to Enhance Lecture Effectiveness and Teaching for Learning: 101 Intentionally Designed Education Activities to Put Students on the Path to Success


Contact Us

11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway

Leawood, KS 66211






August 1: Applications Due for the H. Winter Griffith Resident Scholarship for Excellence in Practice Improvement and Patient Care and the The FPM Award for Practice Improvement

August 1: Deadline for applications for the CERA General Membership Survey

August 12: Deadline to self-nominate for a position on the STFM Board of Directors

September 9: Call for Proposals for the STFM Annual Spring Conference closes

September 15: Last day to submit curriculum for the National Clerkship Curriculum

September 17: Deadline to apply for the Advocacy Scholarship for New Faculty

October 1: Applications due for STFM/MEDICC Trip to Cuba